Heeding Haiku With HA; Life, Death and Time

Quote by Buddha (Haiga-like)

I just had to do something with this “Heeding Haiku With HA”- challenge at mindlovemisery’s menagerie. I know HA as a participant of my Carpe Diem haiku meme and I know he composes wonderful haiku … as I visited mindlovemisery’s menagerie today I saw this “challenge”. I especially did like the ‘haiga‘-like image as shown above.

The quote shown is by Buddha and it speaks to me … “The Trouble Is, You Think You Have Time” … Time … what is time one can not grab it and if I could it would flow through my fingers like grains of sand. We try to hold on to time, we all hope we will look young notwithstanding our age. Time … it’s a very strange phenomenon … We cannot feel it, hold it or stop it … and yet … I have the feeling that I have conquered time … time no longer holds me as its prisoner … time is just fun, every day I am given is a celebration … what the h… with time … time can’t hold me anymore … I feel free … no longer bound to time … what a relief …

conquering time
finally time no longer has power –
at the graveyard

© Chèvrefeuille

Well …. see you next time …
Have a great weekend.

 

14 thoughts on “Heeding Haiku With HA; Life, Death and Time

      • Writing in the past few years has allowed me to mellow, relax more and notice things that matter…like when I took painting classes years ago, I would see the nature differently…writing has done that for me and especially haiku:)

      • No I took it for 2 sessions so I could take an Art Therapy course at university and had to have some fine arts to be eligible. I sketch in a sketch book sometimes furing long serious calls at work.

      • I can imagine that ‘sketching’ during a call … in that way i discovered haiku more than 25 years ago. I was studying ans sometimes the lectures weren’t interesting enough to me. At times than i wrote ‘sketches, of poems. One day a fellow student said ‘those scribblings lok like haiku’. From that moment on i was hooked to haiku … So very similar with what said in this comment.

      • Awesome story, Kristjaan. I sketch sometimes to stay grounded in the moment and keep some separateness to avoid vicarious trauma with some difficult calls. I should post some etchings for fun with a senryu. I really like how you started writing!

  1. Guess that’s about the only way we can really conquer time … and we should remember that and enjoy what time we do have… great haiku but may I humbly suggest an editing for the second line? One cannot say … not longer the power … it would read better: finally time no longer has power …

  2. so true. I have always thought time and space are a bit wonky. I’ll bet eventually scientists will discover they are not anywhere as predictable as we think they are. I love the haibun writing and the cemetery haiku

Leave a Reply

