Carpe Diem Summer Retreat 2017 (unconditional) love (7) shepherd’s purse

LOGO summer retreat 2017

Dear friends,

I am so glad to bring you another one of my submissions to the 2017 Summer Retreat of Carpe Diem Haiku Kai, my daily haiku-meme. This year’s Summer Retreat the theme is (unconditional) love and that’s a very broad range for inspiration.

As haiku poets we are one with nature. Haiku is about that one moment of joy as short as the sound of a pebble thrown in water. Without love for nature (I think) you cannot be a real haiku poet. So today I love to share a haiku with you which I once wrote inspired on a haiku by Basho (1644-1694). I think this haiku is also as renown as his “old pond” haiku. So here it goes:

This the haiku by Basho (in a translation by Barnhill):

yoku mireba nazuna hana saku kakine kana

looking closely:
a shepherd’s purse blossoming
beneath the hedge

© Matsuo Basho (Tr. Barnhill)

And this is the haiku I once created inspired on this real beauty by Basho:

shepherd’s purse
trembles in the summer breeze –
bees seek for honey

© Chèvrefeuille

A nice one I think (how immodest) and in it you can find (unconditional) love too I think. We have to love nature even a little herb like Shepherd’s purse. It is worth to look at it and appreciate it. It’s part of nature.

And of course in a way “bees seek for honey” is very clear about (unconditional) love, so I think this haiku fits our Summer Retreat theme.

See you …

3 thoughts on “Carpe Diem Summer Retreat 2017 (unconditional) love (7) shepherd’s purse

Leave a Reply

